A Year After Declaring African Travel Bans ‘Racist’, Joe Biden To Restrict Travel from South Africa & Seven Other African Countries on Monday Amid New Covid Variant

Starting on Monday, the United States will restrict travel from South Africa and seven other African countries amid the new Omicron strain of the coronavirus, announced the White House on Friday. The United States will restrict travel to anyone who isn’t a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi. Those eligible to enter the United States from those places must test negative for the coronavirus.

Of course, when former President Trump did something similar to this in 2017, candidate Biden called him, amongst other things ‘xenophobic’.
RELATED: Fauci: Maybe we’ll ban travel from South Africa eventually if the data on the new variant looks bad; Update: U.S. bans travel from eight countries

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s